The Coathangers – Nosebleed Weekend

The Coathangers – Nosebleed Weekend


  • iTunes // Released April 22

  • Recorded at Valentine Recording studios with Nic Jodoin (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)

Buy on iTunes

Nosebleed Weekend comes hot on the heels of The Coathangers highly-praised 2014 release Suck My Shirt, but with a difference. Nosebleed Weekend is the first album The Coathangers have made outside of their native Atlanta, and with this expanded location has come broadened horizons musically. The Coathangers new release, still manages to contain the simmering vocal intensity, serrated but catchy instrumentation and neo- grunge tone beloved by their fans, while incorporating more sophisticated songwriting, expanded musical concepts and a shine of maturity. Nosebleed Weekend shows that 10 years on The Coathangers are still rocking, stronger then ever.

Recorded in North Hollywood at Valentine Recording Studios with Nic Jodoin,(Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, ghtbeats), Nosebleed Weekend contains something for every Rock n Roll and Coathangers fan, new and old.

‘Spiky garage rock guitars and a clap-along chorus that bridges the gap between power pop and no wave dissonance”

~Consequence Of Sound


Nosebleed Weekend by The Coathangers is set to be release in AUS/NZ via Smack Face Records in April 2016.

Additional information

Weight100 g
Dimensions12 x 12 x 4 cm

Dimensions listed above are shipping dimensions not product dimensions.

Media Type


SKU: SFR-COA02 - Need Help? Contact Us Leave Feedback

Categories: ,

Tags: , , ,

More information

Nosebleed Weekend comes on the heels of the band’s highly-praised 2014 release Suck My Shirt.   They toured non-stop for eighteen months on Suck My Shirt, with appearances at festivals like Riot Fest, Burgerama, TBD Fest, Sled Island, Festival d’été de Québec and Capitol Hill Block Party; and toured with bands like The Black Lips and The Growlers.

Kim Gordon even named their May 2015 show at Pappy & Harriets in Pioneertown, CA as #1 on her Top 10 List of 2015 in Artform Magazine (Dec 2015).

Nosebleed Weekend is the first album the band has made outside of Atlanta, and was recorded in North Hollywood at Valentine Recording studios with Nic Jodoin (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club). “The Beach Boys and Bing Crosby both recorded there!” Kugel says excitedly (as did Frank Zappa!). Nosebleed Weekend was the first session at Valentine Recording Studios since 1979, when acclaimed producer Jimmy Valentine decided to suddenly shutter its doors without explanation. He left everything intact, including the custom built MCI soundboard, vintage mics, and myriad priceless gear.   The studio was a virtual time capsule for more than thirty years, until Valentine passed away and his family inherited the building and its contents.

“It was an amazing experience, not to mention a ghostly one too. The studio had been custom built by Jimmy Valentine and he was very protective of his passion. It sounds weird, but his spirit was there, checking in on us and fucking with us a bit.”

The Coathangers are the trio Julia Kugel (guitar/vocal), Meredith Franco (bass/vocals) and Stephanie Luke (drums/vocals).

The band also announced live shows in Brooklyn and Los Angeles around the release date. On March 29 they will be co-headlining a show with Tijuana Panthers at Baby’s All Right. They will then be in Los Angeles headlining The Echo on April 6 and then head down to Norman, OK. To co-headline the Norman Music Festival with Cloud Nothings, Small Black, Nikki Lane and more from April 21-23. More tour dates to be announced soon…

Track List

  • Perfume
  • Dumb Baby
  • Squeeki Tiki
  • Excuse Me?
  • Make It Right
  • Nosebleed Weekend
  • Watch Your Back
  • Burn Me
  • I Don’t Think So
  • Down Down
  • Hiya
  • Had Enough
  • Copycat